Who can stand for election?

You must be:

  • A parliamentary elector (on the parliamentary electoral roll), and
  • A New Zealand citizen

Are there any other restrictions?

If you’re standing for election to the Greater Wellington Regional Council, you cannot:

  • Also stand for election to a city or district council or community board in the Wellington region, or
  • Stand for election for more than one constituency in the Wellington Region, or
  • Have an interest in all contracts with Greater Wellington Regional Council exceeding $25,000 (GST inclusive) unless you have a prior approval from the Office of the Auditor-General

Greater Wellington Regional Council has 13 elected members:

Pōneke/Wellington Constituency 5 councillors
Te Awa Kairangi ki Tai/Lower Hutt Constituency3 councillors
Porirua-Tawa Constituency2 councillors
Kāpiti Coast Constituency1 councillor
Wairarapa Constituency1 councillor
Te Awa Kairangi ki Uta/Upper Hutt Constituency1 councillor

Nominations for the 2019 local government elections close at 12noon on 16 August.