Local Elections 2019

The local authority elections are conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and the Local Government Act 2002.

The local authority elections are undertaken on behalf of Greater Wellington Regional Council by the constituent territorial authorities within the Wellington Region. In addition to their own election (Mayor, Council, Community Board), each territorial authority is responsible for compiling and certifying the electoral rolls, issuing the voting papers, and processing and counting Greater Wellington Regional Council votes.

Greater Wellington Regional Council resolved to use the Single Transferable Vote voting system for the 2019 election. 

Greater Wellington Regional Council’s Electoral Officer is responsible for accepting candidate nominations and declaring the results for Greater Wellington Regional Council’s election.

Who can vote?

To be eligible to vote, you must be enrolled on the parliamentary roll or on the ratepayer electoral roll.

Resident electoral roll

All parliamentary electors in the Wellington Region are automatically enrolled on Greater Wellington Regional Council’s electoral roll, for the address that they are enrolled at on the parliamentary roll. If you wish to enrol or update your details, you can:

  • Go to www.elections.org.nz
  • Free phone 0800 36 76 56
  • Free text your name and address to 3676
  • Visit any Post Shop

Ratepayer electoral roll

If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, they may be entitled to enrol to vote on the non-resident ratepayer roll.

Ratepayer roll enrolment forms will be sent out to ratepayers.   

Who can stand as a candidate? 

To be eligible to stand as a candidate you must be:

  • Enrolled as a parliamentary elector anywhere in New Zealand
  • A New Zealand citizen
  • Nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll for the constituency for which you wish to stand.

Nominations for the 2019 local government elections opened on 19 July and closed at 12noon on 16 August 2019. 


Voting documents, including a reply paid envelope will be sent to all eligible voters by post during September 2019. Votes needed to be returned by 12noon on Saturday 12 October 2019.